Connect with us

Features

Summer Solstice: What You Should Know

Published

on

Summer Solstice: What You Should Know

Summer solstice has begun in the Northern Hemisphere  on Tuesday, with the first day being the longest day of the year.

Summer Solstice also marking the longest day of the year and the first day of the new season.

Also, it marks the end of spring.

Summer solstice brings in hot season to countries like the United States of America and the United Kingdom.

These countries are usually very cold as the weather is very cold.

Therefore, with the coming of summer, everywhere lights up with hot weather.

ALSO READ: Cloudflare Outage: Google, Twitter, Coinbase, Amazon, Others Down

But what is this summer solstice that Americans, United Kingdom people and others even celebrate?

For various places around the world, the summer solstice starts at:

  • 2:13 a.m. in Los Angeles
  • 3:13 a.m. in Denver
  • 4:13 a.m. in New Orleans
  • 10:13 a.m. in London
  • 11:13 a.m. in Cairo
  • 12:13 p.m. in Jerusalem
  • 1:13 p.m. in Dubai
  • 5:13 p.m. in Manila, Philippines
  • 6:13 p.m. in Tokyo

What is it:

According to the National Weather Service, the summer solstice officially begins at 5:13 a.m. on the U.S. East Coast.

It is also known as the June solstice or midsummer — can occur any time between June 20 and June 22.

June 21 is marks the longest day of the year since the North Pole will be tilted at its highest direction towards the sun.

The Weather Service describes summer solstice as thus:

A solstice occurs when “Earth arrives at the point in its orbit where the North Pole is at its maximum tilt [about 23.5 degrees] toward the Sun, resulting in the longest day and shortest night of the calendar year.”

During the solstice, the sun goes over the Tropic of Cancer, at its highest point.

When this occurs, we witness the most hours of daylight and least hours of darkness.

So, the day becomes very long with daylight while the night becomes extremely short.

In astrology, it’s also seen as a time to recognize and embrace growth.

Reports say today, the Earth soak up the maximum amount of daylight — 15 hours, 5 minutes and 37 seconds of sun in the New York area.

Today, Tuesday marks the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere.

However, it also marks the shortest day of the year in the Southern Hemisphere.

So, what this means is that while countries along the Northern Hemisphere experience summer, those south of the Equator begin to witness winter.

Example of countries south of Equator are Australia and Brazil.

 

Anthony Chinonso Ogbonna is the editor of Techuncode media. He is a seasoned journalist whose stint cuts across broadcast, print and, especially, the online media. A graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN), Anthony holds a Masters Degree in Multimedia Journalism. He aligns his belief with those of world tech communities, holding tenaciously that the world is solely driven and can only be best with tech. Furthermore, Anthony believes that technology is simple, fun and is not what one, especially Africans, should be scared of, hence, his passion for telling compelling stories about tech in ways relatable to the ordinary user. He has his hobbies in reading and designing (new hobby though.)

Trending